Hacked vs. Spoofed and Why it is Important to Know the Difference

20160528_115654

Some things Make you just want to scream!

You are on Facebook and you see a friend request from a friend you have known on Facebook for a long time. You are already friends. Why are they requesting again?

It’s not them!

They are being spoofed.  Their other account is still there, but someone has “friended” them, copied their Facebook page, and is now reaching out to their friends and trying to get them to “friend” the impostor.  The original account is not “hacked”. There is nothing that has been done to the original per se.  The new one is a fake and needs to be reported right away!  You can report them to Facebook and they will take them down quickly.

Why do they do this?  A great article is found here on Facecrooks. So if you see this, it is not a “hacked” account. The original friend who is being “spoofed” needs to simply report the issue, and go through their friend’s list looking for people who are not their friends or who are “spoofs” of their friends.

Another scam to beware is found here. Beware of pretty girls you do not know trying to befriend you.  Only friend people whom you know, and even then, be careful.

If you have been scammed or think you may need help, of course, you can call Joe at Marino Creative Technologies!

Quick Tips You Can Use to Avoid Service Calls #1

You are surfing the web, minding your own business, and WHAM… this pops up and your computer starts yelling at you….

Don't click anything or call that number!!

Don’t click anything or call that number!!

 

Your heart starts to beat really fast and you try to decide what to do.  This is called Social Engineering. They use fear to get you to make a mistake. If you click the x, you most likely get a bug. If you click anything else, you most likely get a bug.  If you call the number and let them on your computer, you get bugs, stolen data, and lots of issues!  So, what do you do?

  1. Take a deep breath
  2. On your keyboard, press the alt, ctrl, and del (or delete) keys together.ctrl-alt-del-in-real-life
  3. Click on task manager
  4. Click on the offending browser
  5. Click end task.
  6. Close task manager
  7. Relax and go back to enjoying the internet

This scam catches a lot of people.Try a practice run on this tip and you will be ready to take care of this without incurring a service call!  Of course, if you need us, we are here to help!

2016-05-25

 

Radio Days Revisited

Recently, I got hold of a reel to reel player and some of my old reels of interviews that I was blessed to do when I was on the radio. Here is a fun one from 1989 with Alice Cooper when he was promoting his LP Trash.  We had just gotten yelled at by the station owner, Sy Dressner, for his bus taking up too much space in the parking lot. That is what we were dealing with back then. Anyway, this is the raw tape (what went on the air was edited and polished and stuff.  It is my hope that you enjoy it. If so, there will be more to come (as I find more tapes).

Alice Cooper Interview

ACTrash

 

Two New Issues That You Need To Know About!

AnnoyedTwo things were occurring in the last week that you need to know about. One is annoying, the other devastating!

First the annoying:  Many people had their email hiccup over the last week, sending them doubles of every email they ever got that was still on the server!  I have several email addresses. It seems to be most common with Comcast users but not necessarily on their Comcast account. Again, this is annoying, but not dangerous, and has been resolving itself after a few days.  The clean-up consists of cleaning up the double emails.

ouchThe second is a nasty piece of Malware called Teslacrypt3. This is a variant of the Cryptowall virus but different enough to be a nasty bugger!  If your files are encrypted with this, you have two options: Restore them from a clean, non infected backup or pay the ransom!  Some have paid the price, right around 400.00, to get their files de-crypted.

 

 

The lines of defense against this bug are:

  1.  Do not click on unknown links, especially in emails
  2. BACK UP YOUR FILES REGULARLY, preferably with an off-site, cloud based program
  3. Beware of links on Facebook.

If you get Tesla3, you will see a screen that looks like this:

teslacrypt

 

It is so imporant to say this that we are going to say it again:  The only way to get your files back for this latest variant of the program is to restore them from a clean backup or pay the ransom.

If you find that you have come into contact with this piece of malware, give us a call at 508-246-1337.

 

Beware of the Latest Scams to Infect Your Computer: 5 Phrases of Wisdom

malwarewarning Here is a rule of thumb:  When in doubt, DO NOT click an attachment or link.  Always be careful when you are sent a link, an attachment, or anything else via e-mail, text, or Facebook message.  Here are five pieces of wisdom for today:

Number 1:  Postal/Delivery Services do not send attachments.

Number 2:  Banks and Credit Card companies do not send attachments.

Number 3:  Microsoft, Google, PayPal, and E-Bay do not call you and ask to log into your computer.

Number 4:  If you do click on one of these items, call a professional to protect your data and your personal information

Number 5:  Be careful that when you search on a search engine, the link really leads you to where you want to go. Hover over it and see if the link makes sense.

Here is a great article about the latest scams with people pretending to be Microsoft representatives: Did you hover over to make sure that it is a Microsoft link?  I hope so!